Reviews

7.4
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
7.4
Comfort
7.2
Property location
7.9
Facilities
6.8
Staff
7.6
Value
7.3

Reviews

    ligia
    mx

    Review score

    5.0
    30 March 2018

    Old hotel, that could be great with cleaning and maintenance

    The hotel is old, without maintance, the bathroom smells bad.
    The ambiance was typical chines
    Anais Gautherin
    fr

    Review score

    8.8
    26 March 2018
    Non very friendly people
    Great room and breakfast. The place is very beautiful and we'll situated.
    PANITA
    th

    Review score

    8.3
    6 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    timothy
    au

    Review score

    6.7
    11 December 2017

    The trip was spoilt due to being over charged on my credit card for hotel bill when converted .

    poor shower pressure, bathroom smelled, too few TV channels. Walls are thin, can hear other guests thru the night.
    lovely bed , nice and warm, hearty breakfast included, helpful staff.
    Peter
    ca

    Review score

    8.3
    23 November 2017

    I would use this Accommodations again!

    Great Staff, very friendly and helpful when needed, the location was excellent convenient to walk to and from Transit, Stay multiple nights for an authentic Chinese experience.
    MARTIN
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    13 November 2017
    could not get any food there
    All ok
    nl

    Review score

    6.2
    15 August 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Trung Huynh
    vn

    Review score

    6.7
    7 August 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Grigory
    be

    Review score

    6.2
    9 July 2017

    swindling hotel

    After the formalities at the reception we were shown to our room, which was nothing like the room advertised on the website. Unlike the courtyard view on the website, the room was right at the hotel entrance, opposite the reception, dimly lit with the only window facing the corridor which you everyone has to pass on the way in and out. Asking to provide another room, less exposed to the commotion, we were advised that no other room was available. In a very short while, we were shown to a similar room with the same bed and the same set of furniture, but deeper in the hotel. The girl from the reception informed us that that was a delux room, and asked us to pay the difference. The rate was said to be 740 rmb!!, almost twice the price of our room. Seeing our hesitation and surprise, she pulled a disgruntled face and said that she decided to upgrade us for free. We stayed at that room. We discovered it only later, but it has to be mentioned that we were charged in Russian Roubles. It was the first and only time in China this happened. The girl told me the final charge in RMB, but out of the blue charged in Russian Roubles. The mastercard I gave her was in EUR, which is embossed on the card. The operation resulted in double conversation and additional costs to me.
    Quiet and cosy location
    Glenn
    au

    Review score

    5.0
    26 June 2017

    A couple of days in Beijing

    Room size small Bed very hard bed Breakfast limited
    Free airport pick up was excellent. Location good for sight seeing.
    Eric
    us

    Review score

    7.5
    20 June 2017

    Not super glamorous, but a real taste of Beijing.

    There was some mixup. Pretty sure I asked for a single large bed, instead I got 2 small beds (solo traveler). I am a large guy and I could not bend over in the shower. No bathtub. There are 2 courtyards. 1 pretty and 1 boring stone one. My room was looking at the boring one. The curtains did not block out light, so sleeping in required covering my face. Booking says there is a hot tub, but there is not. There was one in the VIP room, but I was only in a standard so it was inaccessible.
    Free breakfast. Good neighborhood. Walking to forbidden city was easy. Less than 10 minute walk to metro. Fun being in an authentic neighborhood. While I have complaints, I would recommend this property. Staying in Beijing and staying in a run of the mill hotel is boring. Experience some culture. The hotel could make a few changes and really improve the quality. Staff was great and helped me a lot, from recommending food to setting up a great wall tour.
    David
    gb

    Review score

    6.7
    12 June 2017

    Living in Beijing Hutong

    Rather tired and could do with some refurbishment. Room a bit dark. Bed very hard, which is Chinese style.
    Wonderful position in Hutongs. Classic Chinese style courtyard hotel. Helpful staff, good breakfast included - western and Chinese food. Felt like we were in the midst of where most Chinese live, not a tourist area. Good value
    Angela
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    5 June 2017

    Well located, charming hotel in safe neighbourhood

    This was a characterful hotel in a traditional hutong. When we arrived our allocated small room had a bed that had one side against the wall and it also had a footboard which made getting in and out of bed quite difficult if you were the unfortunate one against the wall! To their credit they said they would upgrade us for the last two nights of our stay and this room was far more comfortable. Breakfast had something for everyone and good orange juice and we enjoyed taking it in the courtyard. Staff were helpful. There were a couple of subway stations close by but on the first night we easily walked to Tiananmen Square and the night market. We would certainly stay here again.
    Eva
    de

    Review score

    9.2
    16 January 2017

    Quiet small courtyard hotel in a hutong

    The breakfast room is a little run down.
    Staff was very friendly and english-speaking. The hotel lies in a quiet hutong and it is possible to sleep without being disturbed by the noise of the traffic on the main street. The metro station is only a few minutes walk away and there is a nice place to have breakfast nearby. The post station is also close. It was possible to get a discount on airport transfer so if you need to get there very early you should do this. There is western breakfast.
    it

    Review score

    7.5
    8 January 2017
    Poor English of the stuff
    The authentic Chinese atmosphere
    Catherine
    gb

    Review score

    5.4
    31 December 2016
    Window was broken and wouldn't close or lock. No safe in the room. Bathroom door lock broken-our 3yr old son got stuck in the bathroom. Hotel has a "C" class food hygiene rating (the lowest available)-having said that, breakfast was basic but good. They do not offer any other meals though. Reception-one young lady was great and really helpful but the others were grumpy and rather unhelpful. The Hotels Driver was brilliant and although he didn't speak English he was a really nice and helpful guy. Generally the hotel desperately needs an upgrade and some basic maintenance.
    Authentic property. good to get an experience of the real China. Good location. Bed comfortable. Room a good size.
    Andrew
    gb

    Review score

    5.4
    13 November 2016

    interesting - authentic - central location for forbidden city, metro within reach.

    cleanliness and wifi
    il

    Review score

    6.2
    25 September 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Dianne
    au

    Review score

    8.3
    6 September 2016

    Great stay

    A fan in the courtyard adjacent to the lobby would have been nice.
    The staff were extremely helpful when our rail tickets did not turn up as promised.
    Marja
    be

    Review score

    7.9
    21 August 2016

    Traditions, history and modern lifestyle at the same metropole

    Information concerning airport transportation is totally misleading.The annonce promises free transportation if you stay three nights or more. We spent 10 nights but did not received any service although we asked it. When we arrived the receptionist promised that we will have transportation when we will leave, but it never happened. The lady at the reception said that they don't have any service at all and we were forced to take taxi and pay it ourselves.
    Traditional style and atmosphere were an experience compared with ordinary blocks that most hotels have. Nice inner yard, quiet area - no traffic noise.
Loading reviews